Township Boards and Committees

Board of Zoning Appeals
The Board of Zoning Appeals (BZA) is judiciary in nature with the authority to hear and decide variance, conditional use permit, and appeal applications. The BZA operates under the authority of Ohio Revised Code (ORC) 519 and the members deliberate on their decisions after all the evidence on each case is presented in a public hearing. The BZA’s decision is final and appealable only to a court of common pleas.

Each member is appointed by the Township Trustees for a five-year term and an alternate member is appointed for a one-calendar year term and all members must be a resident of Springfield Township.

The Zoning Board schedules meetings on the 3rd Tuesday at 5:30 PM only when needed.

Zoning Commission
The Zoning Commission shall review each application to rezone land, change text of the existing Zoning Resolution and make recommendations to the Township Board of Trustees on each application or text amendment. An application may be initiated by the property owner, Trustees or Zoning Commission.

Only the Township Trustees have the authority to approve a zoning change or text amendment. Although, the Trustees must receive the Zoning Commission’s recommendation, the Trustees can accept, modify, deny or override the recommendation from the Zoning Commission by majority vote.

The Springfield Township Zoning Commission consists of five members which are appointed by the Township Trustees. As required by Ohio Revised Code (ORC) 519, all members must be residents of Springfield Township. Appointments for the members are five years, and the terms overlap.

The Zoning Commission generally schedules meetings on the 3rd Monday at 5:30 PM only when needed.

Arts and Enrichment Council
The Arts and Enrichment Council is a 501(c)3 organization with a mission to create an engaged and vibrant community with quality-of-life enhancements through the arts, community events, parks and recreation. The organization hosts a number of community events and art programs for the residents and visitors of Springfield Township. Five officers are appointed to the Council by the Springfield Township Board of Trustees. The Chair and the Treasurer must be Township employees. Each Officer serves in two-year terms, and may be renewed. Quarterly meetings are required.

Budget and Finance Committee
The Budget and Finance Committee consists of residents and business members with extensive backgrounds in finance. Members serve as an advisory panel to Administration during the budget process. Committee Members are appointed by the Board of Trustees. Meetings are scheduled as needed.